Domestic Violence Lawyer
Reasons To Choose Our Firm
- We are available 24/7 to our clients
- We represent clients throughout Virginia
- We have recovered millions of dollars for clients
- We are recipients of a 10.0 "Superb" Avvo rating
- We are backed by more than 40 years of experience
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Virginia, speak with
our Newport News criminal defense lawyer at once. In the state of Virginia,
domestic violence is also called family abuse. Under Virginia's laws,
it is illegal to injure, attempt to injure, or threaten any individual
within your household or with whom you have intimate relations.
Cases of family abuse can be tried in court as civil or criminal matters,
depending on specific factors. Civil family abuse cases include when a
party is seeking a protective order demanding that another individual
cease his or her actions. Criminal family abuse cases are when domestic
assault and battery occurs, resulting in the perpetrator's arrest.
Types of Family Abuse
According to the Virginia law, family abuse can be physical, verbal, emotional,
financial, or mental. Typically, domestic violence is used to cause the
victim to submit so that the perpetrator can have complete control over
the circumstance. Before you can pursue defense against your charges,
you must understand the various elements of domestic violence:
Civil Protective Order
Protective orders can be issued by the court to prevent future actions
form being taken by the perpetrator. Violations of protective orders are
Class 1 misdemeanors, which are punishable by up to 12 months in jail.
The three types of protective orders in a family abuse case include:
- Emergency protective order
- Preliminary protective order
- Protective order
Violations of a family abuse civil protective order can result in serious
Final Protective Order
At the hearing, the court can issue a final protective order which grants
any relief available in a protective order, orders the respondent to participate
in treatment, and orders temporary child support if children are involved.
Final protective orders remain in effect for a maximum of two years.
Stalker is the term used for anyone who is found to be engaging in conduct
with intention to place the victim in fear more than once. Stalking is
a Class 1 misdemeanor that can be punished by up to 12 months in jail
and a $2,500 fine. If the court finds that the defendant is guilty of
stalking, then a judge must issue a protective order that prohibits contact
from the defendant to the victim.
Obtain Legal Advice from Our Newport News Attorney - Serving All of Hampton Roads
You can face serious consequences if you are convicted of domestic violence
or issued a protective order. If you are charged with family abuse, do
not hesitate to pursue legal guidance through your case. At Larry King
Law, our goal is to help you obtain a reduction or dismissal of your charges.
With careful preparation, you have the chance to achieve a strong case outcome.
Contact us today!
Proudly Representing Clients Throughout Hampton Roads
We are centrally located to all cities and counties comprising metropolitan southeastern Virginia. This includes, in part, Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Hampton, York County, James City County, Gloucester County, Mathews County, Newport News, Surry, West Point, Suffolk, Smithfield, Isle of Wight County, New Kent County, and Williamsburg. We have handled cases throughout Virginia.