Virginia's Trial Lawyers
Call Now for a FREE Consultation
Toll-Free888.700.4151
Local757.209.2265
Free Consultation

How Can We Help?

Get In Touch Today

By submitting this form, you have read and agree to the disclaimer.
Send Your Information

Contact Us

Free Legal Consultation

By submitting this form, you have read and agree to the disclaimer.
million dollar advocates forum top 100 trial lawyers

Understand DUI Penalties in VA

Newport News DUI Defense Attorney

More than 200 alcohol-related accidents were reported in the state of Virginia in a recent year. For this reason, law enforcement takes DUI very seriously. This is why you need to have an attorney on your side who understands how the prosecution works and can fight your DUI charges.

Larry King Law has over 40 years of experience representing clients for numerous matters. We are available at every hour of the day to answer questions and provide effective legal advice. If you need someone to defend you from your charges, call our Newport News DUI lawyer today.

What type of penalties am I facing?

If you are stopped with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, you will be charged with driving under the influence. You will be facing harsh penalties, especially if you have multiple convictions.

A first DUI can result in the following:

  • License revocation for one year
  • Fine of $250-$300
  • Any court-ordained reimbursement
  • Possible enrollment in Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)
  • Possible ignition interlock device
  • Possible restricted driver's license

Penalties for a second DUI offense can include:

  • $500 fine or higher
  • Indefinite license revocation
  • A mandatory jail sentence of up to one year if within less than 5 years of the first offense
  • Possible ignition interlock device
  • Possible restricted driver's license

Additional Factors & Penalties

These penalties can be increased by other factors as well. If you have an extremely high BAC, you may face harsher penalties. You may have to serve an additional 5 days in prison (10 days for a repeat offense) for a blood alcohol content of 0.15% or above. If you have a BAC of 0.2% or above, you may serve additional 10 days in prison (20 days for a second charge). You can also face further consequences if a minor was in the vehicle or an injury or death occurred due to accident.

Transporting a Minor:

  • Extra five days in jail
  • $500-$1,000 in fines for transporting a minor (anyone under 17) at the time of the arrest

For killing someone while driving under the influence:

  • Up to 20 years in jail
  • A felony charge
  • Indefinite license revocation

At Larry King Law, we strive to provide our clients with every option available to them before proceeding with their defense. Let us put our experience to work for you and fight for your most favorable outcome. Call on our firm to come to your defense if you have been arrested for DUI in Virginia!

Proudly Representing Clients Throughout Hampton Roads

We are centrally located to all cities and counties comprising metropolitan southeastern Virginia. This includes, in part, Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Hampton, York County, James City County, Gloucester County, Mathews County, Newport News, Surry, West Point, Suffolk, Smithfield, Isle of Wight County, New Kent County, and Williamsburg. We have handled cases throughout Virginia.

Memberships & Recognitions