Handling Misdemeanor Cases
Hampton Roads & Newport News Criminal Defense Attorney
In general, a misdemeanor is the violation if a state or local law with
a range of punishment up to one year, as indicated below. Larry King understands
that even one day in jail can be a traumatic experience. If you are currently
facing criminal allegations, you will need to retain the strong legal guidance of the Virginia Criminal
Defense Attorney at our firm. Your future and freedom are at stake as
you navigate the complex legal process of handling a criminal case. We
encourage each individual charged with a crime to gain an understanding
of his or her case and exercise constitutionally protected rights, such
as remaining silent and retaining legal counsel. These goals can be accomplished
through a sound client-lawyer relationship, beginning with a free case
evaluation from our firm. We represent clients throughout Southeastern Virginia.
With over 40 years of experience, we can help each client learn their rights
and pursue a favorable case outcome. Larry King is a member of the National
Association of Criminal Defense Attorneys, the Virginia College of Criminal
Defense Attorneys, the Virginia State Bar and many other associations
that help criminal lawyers maintain excellence in practice. He offers
the attentive representation clients need as they pursue complex cases.
Get a Newport News defense lawyer with the following on your side:
- 40 Years Of Experience
- Former State Prosecutor
- Thousands Of Challenging Cases
- All Courts In Southeastern Virginia
- All Criminal And Traffic Cases
- All Felonies and All Misdemeanors
- All Juvenile and Domestic Matters
- State and Federal Court
- Knowledge, Experience, Commitment
- Protect Your Freedom, Liberty, And Good Name
Virginia Misdemeanor Punishments
The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:
(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve
months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six
months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.
(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.
(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.
Please not multiple convictions can result in consecutive punishments.
If you have a case, don't hesitate to
contact our firm today to get started.