Newport News DUI Lawyer

Serving All of Hampton Roads

Call our Virginia law firm at (888) 700-4151.

Reasons To Choose Us

DUI Defense Attorney

  • Free consultations
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • Track record of success
  • 40+ years of experience
  • Available 24/7 to clients
  • Personalized solutions
  • Reputable defense firm
  • "Superb" Avvo Rating

Begin Building Your Aggressive Defense
Schedule Your Free Consultation Today

In the state of Virginia, individuals can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if they are found to have a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08%. Penalties begin with fines and jail time for convictions which become worse with subsequent offenses. When you are arrested for DUI, you need a tough Newport News DUI lawyer who can challenge your charges and obtain a favorable result in court.

Larry King Law has been serving our clients for more than 40 years and in that time we have learned how to beat all manner of DUI charges. Our lead attorney has put his skill in negotiating and litigating to good use over the years and has been awarded with a Superb rating from Avvo and admission into the National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 Trial Lawyers for 2014. This goes to show how committed we are to achieving client goals and doing so in a professional and ethical manner.

We Can Fight to Avoid a Conviction

Penalties for a DUI conviction can depend on the presence of aggravating factors such as the presence of a young child or an excessively high BAC. Causing an accident while DUI is also grounds for a vehicular assault charge which carries serious penalties and is a felony.

In general, punishments for DUI in Virginia include:

  • BAC of 0.2% or higher—at least 10 days in jail on top of other penalties
  • Fourth and subsequent offenses—at least 1 year in jail in addition to fines
  • BAC between 0.15% and 0.2%--at least 5 days in jail in addition to other penalties
  • First offense—at least $250 9in fines and a 1 year revocation of your driver's license
  • Second offense—at least $500 in fines, 3 year license suspension, and up to 1 year in jail
  • Third offense—felony charge, with an indefinite driver's license revocation, at least $1,000 in fines

Virginia has an implied consent law, which means that, as a driver, you automatically provide your consent to submit to a chemical test if the officer has reasonable suspicion that you are driving under the influence of alcohol. If you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you can be charged with refusal to consent. Your license can be suspended if you are found guilty.

We can Help with Commercial, Underage DUIs & DMV Hearings
Get Started Today With A Free Consultation

Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 can be punished with a Class 1 misdemeanor if they are found to be driving under the influence of alcohol. Underage drivers can be charged with DUI if they have a BAC of 0.02% or higher which is punishable by a loss of driver's license, at least $500 in fines, and 50 hours or more of community service in addition to a mark on their criminal record.

Commercial drivers of large trucks are held to a stricter standard than drivers of passenger vehicles. Drivers can be convicted with DUI if their BAC level is at 0.04% or higher. According to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), there are strict restrictions on what is "prohibited alcohol-related conduct" for commercial drivers.

One of the most unfortunate consequences of a DUI arrest is that your license will be suspended. Upon arrest for DUI in Virginia or as a result of your failure to consent to a chemical test, the arresting officer will suspend your driver's license. You will need to immediately request a hearing to review the suspension for a chance to regain your driving privileges. Our Newport News DUI lawyer can be with you during a hearing and work to win your license back.

Legal Counsel from Our Newport News DUI Attorney

At Larry King Law, we are dedicated to pursuing the most favorable outcomes for our clients. Alternative sentencing or an overall dismissal of your case may be in your best interest. No matter what route our attorney must pursue, he can stand by your side and answer your questions along the way. Our Newport News criminal defense attorney is a former state prosecutor with almost 40 years of experience which means we know what strategies are most successful when contesting DUI charges.

Charged with a criminal offense? Get the legal guidance supportive assistance you deserve!
Schedule your free consultation today.

Contact Larry King Law

Professional Legal Services You Can Count On

Send My Message

We Proudly Represent Clients Throughout Virginia

We are centrally located to all cities and counties comprising metropolitan southeastern Virginia. This includes, in part, Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Hampton, York County, James City County, Gloucester County, Mathews County, Newport News, Surry, West Point, Suffolk, Smithfield, Isle of Wight County, New Kent County, and Williamsburg. We have handled cases throughout Virginia.